Constructed in 1921, the 40-foot-wide, 710-foot-long structure originally served as a pedestrian and vehicular crossing of the Chemung River until 1979, when the Brisco Bridge opened to traffic. An original intent to demolish the bridge was overturned by the public, preserving its historical integrity as a pedestrian bridge for the next 30 years. Funding was secured to preserve the structure in 2009 through a unique partnership between the City of Corning, Corning Incorporated, Corning’s Gaffer District, and the New York State Department of Transportation. Today, the bridge acts as a walking park with green lawns and perennial gardens. The space also strives to be educational, community friendly, and interactive with bronze animal tracks, a maze, glass pavers, and fun horizontal stripes to break up the pavement. In the fall of 2014, the bridge's restoration project was named the American Public Works Association Historic Restoration & Preservation Project of the Year.