A preservation in progress, each room at the Belva Lockwood Inn has been designed to reflect the rich history of the property.
In 1815, Charles Pumpelly built a home and lived there until 1841 when he moved to his brother's house located at the other end of Front Street in Owego. The home was eventually converted to a boarding and day school for young ladies, The Owego Female Seminary.
In 1863 Belva Lockwood bought the property and was Principal of the Seminary until 1865. Belva sold the home and moved to Washington D.C. In 1879 she was the first woman to be admitted to the Supreme Court Bar. Belva went on to run for President of the United States in 1884 and 1888.
After Belva left, the original home was partially dismantled and moved to 188 Front Street, Owego and was used as a carriage house. In 1878, Jefferson Dwelle built this home which is considered one the finest examples of High Victorian architecture in the region.
The Property Later became home to the Fraternal Order of Eagles and then served as a private residence. Today, it's been restored into the Belva Lockwood Inn.